A blog dedicated to reviewing films. I will also be posting quotes from Films and Actors, recommendations and much more.

The Ask Box; Please use this to send me recommendations or to ask me to recomend to you!

Please check out my other 2 blogs;
http://boldbrightbeautiful.tumblr.com/
http://thebookreviewer.tumblr.com/
The Wings of the Dove - Film Review

Actors; Helena Bonham Carter, Linus Roache, Alex Jennings and Alison Elliott.

Opinion; A beautiful film about how love isn’t always smooth sailing but extremely complicated. When Kate moves in with her aunt she is forced to stop seeing the man she loves and plans to marry. A triangle starts when Kate meets rich American Milly and they soon become inseparable but Milly has fallen for the man Kate loves. The story seems to go back and forth from Kate and Merton Densher to Milly and Kate then to Milly and Merton and back again but don’t let that put you off because its still quite an easy watch. I will not comment of Helena’s perfomance in this because there are only so many times you can express how flawless somebody is before it starts to loose meaning but she was! Alison Elliott too performed superbly and both female leads made the film completely compelling to watch.

Recommend to; This film is suited for people who enjoy period drama’s set in the late victorian era, people should probably stay away if they are a little prudish as there are some “scenes of a sexual nature.”

Date seen; 2nd October

Rating out of 5; 4.5


Posted 20 Oct 2011 at 07:54
2 notes
Margerets Museum - Film Review

Actors; Helena Bonham Carter, Katie Nelligan, Clive Russell

Opinion; Not Helena’s best. I enjoyed parts but on the whole I thought it to be a very slow and in many places a boring film. There is not much else really to say and this may be the shortest review I give but there is nothing to comment on.

Recommend to; I don’t recommend it at all.

Date seen; 12th October

Rating out of 5; 2


Posted 20 Oct 2011 at 07:51
Margerets Museum - Film Review

Actors; Helena Bonham Carter, Katie Nelligan, Clive Russell

Opinion; Not Helena’s best. I enjoyed parts but on the whole I thought it to be a very slow and in many places a boring film. There is not much else really to say and this may be the shortest review I give but there is nothing to comment on.

Recommend to; I don’t recommend it at all.

Date seen; 12th October

Rating out of 5; 2


Posted 20 Oct 2011 at 07:49
8 Mile - Film Review

Actors; Eminem, Britanny Murphy, Kim Basinger, Mekhi Phifer

Opinion; A decent enough film but I think there could have been more story to it. Seemed to focus more on his lust for a girl who didn’t feel the same than the struggles of a unknown rapper trying to make it big and this disappointed me as people told me it would be great just to see the struggle. Eminems performance is weak and the supporting actors don’t give much more to the film.

Recommend to; if your a fan or Eminem or films that generalize and stereotype everyone then watch it but if you like films with substance stay away.

Date Seen; 14th October 2011

Rating out of 5; 3


Posted 20 Oct 2011 at 07:45
1 note
Stepmom - Film Review

Actors; Susan Surandon, Julia Roberts, Ed Harris, Jena Malone, Lian Aiken

Opinion; I’m not sure if I have already reviewed this however I shall again in case my opinion has changed. This a very bitter sweet film about a family that has been split by divorce, the father is now ready to re-marry but the children don’t see eye to eye with Isabel (Julia Roberts). Susan Surandon plays the biological mother but soon recieves news that throws all relationships into a spiral of mixed emotions and hard situations. A fantastic emotional performance by Surandon that moved me to tears because I can relate (more from the childrens point of view) to the outcome. Its really hard to review this film without giving anything away but what I will say is it is a must see for anyone and everyone just make sure you have a few boxes of tissues to hand!

Recommend to; A great film probably best suited for people who enjoy tear jerkers but since Surandon and Roberts perform flawlessly any fans of those 2 should give it a watch too!

Date seen; most recently 2nd Ocotber

Rating out of 5; 4


Posted 03 Oct 2011 at 15:43

Got a big day of film watching to do today including
- The corpse bride (watching now)
-Nightmare before christmas
- 8 Mile
-Margarets museum
- Wings of a dove
- A Room with a view
- Australia
And if there’s any time left after all that I will watch Stepmom. Reviews to follow either tonight or tomorrow.


Posted 02 Oct 2011 at 04:15
The Lovely Bones

Actors; Rachel Weisz, Mark Wahlberg, Saoirse Ronan, Susan Surandon

Opinion; I tried to read this book a few years back but I was completely disappointed I felt the book had so much potential and yet it failed to keep me interested. The film on the other hand was brilliant, possibly because its quicker than reading a book so I knew I wouldn’t be trying to hard to finish it if it was a dud. I enjoyed this film because it is quite different, the scenery when she’s in the middle bit between life and heaven is amazing too and its quite an arty film and because despite the storyline everything is played out calmly. Another reason I feel it was better than book is because you could see the emotions of the family that it affected and that is not described very well in the book. If I could pick a fault it would be that !*spoiler*! I’d rather have seen the murderer thrown away or caught and tortured rather than death my icicles, not really satisfying is it?

Recommend to; People who have read the book. People who enjoy artsy type films.

Date Seen; 20th September

Rating out of 5; 4


Posted 01 Oct 2011 at 03:00
3 notes
Novicaine

Actors; Helena Bonham Carter, Steve Martin, Laura Dern, Elias Koteas etc

Opinion; I quite liked this film, in the blurb it was compared to Woody Allen films but I have to disagree since this film was actually good! Helena, as always, plays her role flawlessly and Steve Martin is brilliant also, having only seen him in family comedies before, this made a nice change. There isn’t much more to say about it though without spoiling it.

Recommend to; Steve Martin fans. Helena Bonham Carter fans. Comedy fans. Etc

Date Seen; 6th September

Rating out of 5; 3.5


Posted 01 Oct 2011 at 02:56
Sabrina - Film Review

Actors; Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart & William Holden

Opinion; I don’t particularly like old films there’s just something about them that’s tacky. However, I have never given a black and white film ago and this one was brilliant. I thought their sense of humour would be too different but I did actually find it quite funny. Hepburn plays a chauffeurs daughter who is in love with the youngest boy of the rich family her father works for. He does not know she exists and she is so saddened by this that she tries to kill herself, however eldest son Linus saves her. The next day she is sent to a paris for 2 years. When she gets back home she has grown from a innocent young girl to a sophisticated young woman. She comes home to the love of the man she has admired all her life, but does she still feel the same after all this time? I was quite suprised by just how much I loved this film, I’d seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s and wasn’t very keen on that. This film has made me want to watch a lot more Hepburn films though, I’m thinking she might join my very short list of favorite Actresses, but we’ll see.

Recommend to; Romantic film fans. Hepburn fans. Bogart fans. Classic film fans.

Date Seen; 6th September

Rating out of 5; 4.5

"A woman happily in love burns the Soufle, a woman unhappy in love forgets to turn the oven on."


Posted 07 Sep 2011 at 02:45
2 notes
Scott Pilgrim Vs the World - Film Review

Actors;Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Keiran Culkin

Opinion; Brilliant film! Its mixes so much in it that I love such as a goofy main guy, a beautiful in the untraditional way main girl, video games and lots of humour for starters! You can tell that people have put a lot of work into this film to make it the success it was and is! The main character is a goofy and a little bit of a loser until he meets Romona Flowers, a girl who stands out where-ever she is but not just because of her bright and unusual hair colour choices. The film shows Scott and Romona’s relationship develop with some difficulty as Scott has to defeat Romona’s 7 evil Ex’s. I don’t have anything negative to say about it, I understand others may not like it but this was the kind of film I could watch every day for a year and still not be board of!

Recommend to; Video game fans (as there’s a lot of references to games). Comedy fans.

Date Seen; most recently 18th August 2011

Rating out of 5; 4


Posted 28 Aug 2011 at 05:55